The OrthoApnea Scientific Committee team.

Meet the team that forms the OrthoApnea Scientific Committee.

The OrthoApnea Scientific Committee is defined by a group of multidisciplinary specialists in Oral Sleep Medicine whose objective is to strengthen the excellence of the OrthoApnea device as treatment for snoring and obstructive sleep apnea syndrome (OSAS).

orthoApnea scientific committee

OrthoApnea Scientific Committee from left to right: Dr. Francesca Milano, Dr. Javier Vila, Dr. Mercedes Martín, Dr. Pedro Mayoral Sanz

Here we introduce you to the members of our team of specialists:

Dr. Javier Vila, a otolaryngologist at the Vall d’Hebron Hospital in Barcelona and dentist, is Director of the Scientific Committee and reinforces the presence of OrthoApnea in the scientific community through clinical studies working with universities and reference hospitals both nationally and internationally.

Dr. Pedro Mayoral, a dentist with more than 20 years of experience in Oral Sleep Medicine, is also member of the most relevant national and international Sleep Medicine Societies, such as the Spanish Society of Dental Sleep Medicine, American Academy of Sleep Medicine, the European Sleep Research Society, among others. He makes us aware of the latest developments and studies on the mandibular advancement devices, imparting the OrthoApnea certification courses and sharing his knowledge.

Dr. Mercedes Martín, a pneumologist, is responsible for the Sleep Disordered Breathing Unit at Virgen de la Victoria University Hospital in Málaga, member of the board of directors and coordinator of the group of experts on sleep disordered breathing Neumosur (Association of Southern Pneumologists). In addition, it coordinates clinical studies with OrthoApnea and allows us to have a medical-hospital perspective since it is the medical figure that derives the vast majority of sleep disordered breathing cases.

Dr. Francesca Milano is a specialist in Orthodontics and an Expert in Dental Sleep Medicine by the European Academy of Dental Sleep Medicine (EADSM) and the Italian Society of Odontoiatric Medicine (SIMSO) with more than 14 years of experience. She joined the OrthoApnea Scientific Committee as Director of the Educational Program in Italy with the objective of defining and developing the Training and Research Program on the treatment of Obstructive Sleep Apnea Syndrome with the OrthoApnea device.

The presence of this Scientific Committee is a fundamental pillar in the ongoing development of OrthoApnea and its evolution in the treatment of sleep apnea through mandibular advancement devices.